Archives

Categories

Monthly Archives: July 2011

The Cure for Crowds

Published July 30, 2011 in Writing - 2 Comments

We’ve had a very busy month, meeting a lot of fans.  A LOT of fans. In June we spent two weeks with Supanova in Australia, the pop-culture convention, where we signed a lot of autographs in Sydney and Perth. Then, after a couple of weeks at home, we headed off to San Diego for Comic Con International, 150,000 or so fans in the San Diego Convention Center; Rebecca was one of the special guest authors.  Again, a lot of people.

I needed some recharge time.

After Supanova and before Comic Con, I went on two mountain climbs here in Colorado, Kelso Mountain (13,181 ft) and Mount Silverheels (13,882 ft). A great way to recharge the mental batteries.

KELSO MOUNTAIN

Fourteeners Grays Peak and Torrey’s Peak from the hike to Kelso Mountain summit.

Kelso Mountain summit

MOUNT SILVERHEELS

Mount Silverheels, which overlooks the real town of South Park.
No trail, just a “suggested route”

Cairn on a ridge, en route to Silverheels summit

The summit of Mount Silverheels

After returning home from Comic Con, also “peopled out,” I headed off to LaPlata Peak, my first Fourteener of the season (Colorado has 54 peaks higher than 14,000 ft). I have climbed all of them in the past, and the last time I climbed LaPlata I was writing chapters in our novel TITAN A.E.: CALE’S STORY; this time, I was plotting my second humorous zombie PI novel for Kensington (more on that series in a later posting).  I hiked this mountain on an entirely different trail, so it was a new experience.

LAPLATA PEAK

Share

Another Great San Diego Comic Con

Published July 28, 2011 in Writing - 1 Comment

Returned home from another exciting, crowded, and fruitful San Diego Comic Con. I would have posted photos earlier, but we forgot to bring the download cable for the camera!

We arrived on Wednesday, were picked up from the airport by Comic Con staff, and brought to the Omni hotel, right across from the Convention Center. (Rebecca was a Special Guest author for Comic Con, so we were treated very well. Thanks, SDCC staff!)

We had an impromptu lunch with Alex Lencicki, my publicist from Orbit, and Orbit editor DongWon Song, relaxed a little in the afternoon, then went over to the big preview night (already wall-to-wall people), did a tour of the floor, saw a lot of friends and editors in the aisles and at booths, and saw the spectacular Dunenovels booth set up by Byron Merritt and Kim Herbert, with a large display of SISTERHOOD OF DUNE.  After preview night, we met my typist Mary Thomson and “research babe” Cherie Buchheim for dinner at an excellent Irish Pub.


Byron Merritt, Kevin, and Kim Herbert

Thursday, the con started in earnest. I was on a big panel “Putting the Epic in Epic Fantasy” with George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson, Christopher Paolini, Peter Orullian, Patrick Rothfuss, and KJ Taylor, followed by an autographing in the open Sail Pavilion.

George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson, Kevin J. Anderson, Christopher Paolini, Peter Orullian, Patrick Rothfuss, KJ Taylor.

Kevin & Rebecca, Patrick Rothfuss, Christopher Paolini, Brandon Sanderson

We spent more time on the floor that afternoon, then met Byron Merritt, Kim Herbert, and other members of the family for an excellent dinner at the Karl Strauss brewery, after which Rebecca and I attended a Captain America launch party, sponsored by Wikia, at the Rock Bottom Brewery (a great night for breweries!)

Friday was Rebecca’s big spotlight day. We had breakfast with Nancy Holder, who would be the MC at her main panel. (We ate at a local coffee shop that had been competely retooled and made over into the Cafe Diem from EUREKA.) Before Rebecca’s panel we tracked down our friend Pat Tallman (from Babylon 5) in the aut0graph area to say Hi, then went to Rebecca’s spotlight, followed by an autographing session. Dinner that night with Christopher Paolini and his sister Angela, Timothy Zahn and his family.

Nancy Holder and Rebecca

Kevin, Rebecca, Christopher Paolini, Angela Paolini, Timothy Zahn

Saturday was the full-on business day. I met Steve Saffel, my editor from Titan Books (who is reprinting my novel CAPTAIN NEMO in a deluxe edition this September), then went to see good friend and Star Wars comics writer Tom Taylor, who gave me my new hat in Australia, and we were dutifully wearing them in San Diego. I also talked with many of my other editors, the Tor Books staff, Orbit Books staff, and a lot of other people. Dinner that night with friends Harry Kloor, Len McCleod of Dark Skies films, and the gang.

Tom Taylor, Kevin Anderson, and hats

Sunday—breakfast with John Goodwin from Galaxy Press, then over to the Dunenovels booth for an interview for Science Fiction News, then a meeting with Wolfgang Bylsma of Gestalt Comics (and we’ll be announcing a great new graphic novel project, soon), then Rebecca had a panel on writing Middle Grades fiction. We had time to go around the floor one more time before the show shut down, one more signing at the Dunenovels booth, and then we went back to the Karl Strauss Brewery for dinner with Tom Taylor, Neil Kaplan, and other friends.

Exhausting, but a great show!

Share

Comic Con Schedule

Published July 21, 2011 in Writing - 0 Comments

For those of you trying to track me or Rebecca down at San Diego Comic Con, here’s where you can find us:

THURS:
Noon:  Kevin Panel, “Putting the Epic in Epic Fantasy” rm 6A (with George RR Martin, Brandon Sanderson, Patrick Rothfuss, Christopher Paolini, Peter Orullian, KJ Taylor)

1:30 Autographing in Sail Pavilion (following panel)

3 PM–4 PM at Dunenovels Booth #1318

FRIDAY
11:30 Spotlight Panel on Rebecca Moesta Rm 9
Autographing after panel (K&R)

2:30-3:30 at Dunenovels Booth #1318

SATURDAY
Dunenovels booth (see booth for schedule)

SUNDAY
1:45 Panel (Rebecca) “Writing for the Middle Grade Audience: Engaging the Reader at an Important Age”
Autographing to follow panel

Kevin will be at Dunenovels booth (see booth for schedule)

 

Share

Great High-Tech Thrillers by Bill Ransom

Published July 19, 2011 in Writing - 0 Comments

Bill Ransom, Frank Herbert’s coauthor on the Pandora Sequence (The Jesus Incident, The Lazarus Effect, and The Ascension Factor) is an accomplished and respected novelist in his own right, and WordFirePress is pleased to offer Bill’s backlist of gritty, near-future thrillers which have been unavailable for many years—ViraVax, Burn, and Jaguar (all for $2.99), as well as The Jesus Incident.

A vivid and gritty thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton and Tom Clancy, BURN takes today’s genetic research one step into a terrifying future, a “Hot Zone” world gone mad about a man-made contagion that literally leaves no one untouched. It is called GenoVax, and the death it brings is horrifying. It is the most frightening weapon mankind has ever created, and when it is unleashed, the human race will know what it is like to burn. . . .

Kindle
Nook
Other eReader Formats

In the private laboratory known as ViraVax, Rico Toledo has uncovered a horrifying truth. In this place, run by a mysterious group called the Children of Eden, the worst suspicions of ex-intelligence officer Toledo have been confirmed: his partner has been genetically programmed for assassination—and Toledo may have been altered too.

Kindle
Nook
Other eReader Formats

In waking life, he is a combat vet with a mysterious sleep disorder, confined to a VA hospital bed. When he sleeps, he roams the plains of another world, invading the minds of the people as they dream and forcing them to do his will. They call him . . . Jaguar.

In both worlds, there are those who know the Jaguar’s secret. They are learning to link their minds across the void between worlds, following the dreampaths the Jaguar created—all the way back to where his body lies helpless . . . an easy target for their justice.

Kindle
Nook
Other eReader Formats

A sentient Ship with godlike powers (and aspirations) delivers the last survivors of humanity to a horrific, poisonous planet, Pandora—rife with deadly Nerve-Runners, Hooded Dashers, airborne jellyfish, and intelligent kelp. Chaplain/Psychiatrist Raja Lon Flattery is brought back out of hybernation to witness Ship’s machinations as well as the schemes of human scientists manipulating the genetic structure of humanity.

Sequel to Frank Herbert’s Destination: Void, the first book in Herbert & Ransom’s Pandora Sequence, which also includesThe Lazarus Effect and The Ascension Factor.

Kindle
Nook
Other eReader Formats

Share
1 2 3 4